natural cleaning.

I try hard to be frugal, natural and healthy. There are definitely times where I splurge and buy name brand rather than store brand or take my guilty pleasure trip through the McDonald’s drive thru. This past Monday I was off from school and decided to spend my afternoon transforming our cleaning cabinet. I threw away all the store bought cleaning supplies and made my own! This endeavor was spurred on with the hope of being more frugal, natural and healthy [i wonder if McDonald’s uses natural cleaners on their counter tops]?

Since I just ran out of bathroom cleaner and an all purpose spray, I thought that’s where I would start. Below are the “recipes” I used to create these green cleaning products !

Antibacterial Spray (our new equivalent to Lysol)

  • 1 cup water
  • 20 drops lavender oil

All Purpose Spray (our new equivalent to 409) I’ve been mainly using this on the counter tops, sink, etc.

  • 3 Tablespoons vinegar
  • 1/2 Teaspoon washing soda
  • 1/2 Teaspoon castile soap
  • 1 Teaspoon Borax
  • 2 Cups hot water
  • Couple drops of Tea Tree Oil

Grease Cutter I used this on our George Foreman grill last night and it worked wonderfully.

  • 2 Cups water
  • 1/4 Cup castile soap
  • 10 drops lavender oil

Bath, Sink, Tile Cleaner NOTE: Ideally, mix this one in a SQUIRT bottle, not a SPRAY bottle. It’s pretty thick and almost a
paste. I am yet to use this one as I haven’t cleaned the bathroom.

  • 2/3 Cup baking soda
  • 1/2 Cup castile soap
  • 2 Tablespoons vinegar
  • 1/2 Cup water

My start up cost was about $50.00 a little steep for a simple “household cleaner’ shopping trip. From what I have read and what I can tell, these products should last me awhile. If they last for a full year, I still think that’s cheaper than buying new. A few tips that I picked up along the way:

  • Hobby Lobby sells essential oils in their candle making section. They’re about $6.00 for a bottle. If you use your 40% off coupon, it takes the price down to about $3.80. MUCH cheaper than the $10.99 oils from the health food store.
  • Tea Tree oil can be found in the vitamin section of your local pharmacy or grocery store (I found mine at Meijer).
  • Any of the recipes using washing soda and vinegar tend to bubble. Make them over the sink.
  • Lavender is a natural disinfectant.
  • Bed Bath and Beyond sells the larger bottle of Dr. Bronners castile soap for around $10.99. The same sized bottle at Meijer was around $17.99.
  • Tape your recipe to the outside of the bottle. This allows for quick remaking when you run out.

I will be sure to update when new recipes that I use! Happy Green Cleaning to all of you!

One thought on “natural cleaning.

Leave a Reply

