weeks 33-36

It’s hard to believe that I am in my final month of pregnancy.  In a few short weeks (or days) this little baby will be here.

Being very pregnant during the Christmas season has given me a whole new perspective on the birth of Christ. There is a lot of anticipation around the birth of Baby Bohle. Family and friends are anxious to meet him, we have spent the past 9 months *trying* to prepare for his arrival, with each day that passes we wonder “is today the day”. All this excitement for a very special baby but one that won’t save the world of their sins. Imagine the excitement that filled the air with the news of Jesus’ birth. The birth of a baby who was promised thousands of years before to come to save mankind from our brokenness so we could live forever in Heaven. wow.

Last night we attended Christmas Vespers at Hope College. As I felt Baby Bohle kicking and moving while the organ was playing a triumphant praise to the new born King, I couldn’t help but gain a better picture of that miraculous Christmas day some 2,000 years ago.

I also have gained a whole new appreciation for Mary. I couldn’t imagine traveling for days on the back of a donkey while 9 months pregnant not knowing when the baby would be born. Having to deliver the baby in a stable with hay. No doctors, no epidural, no nurses, just her and Joseph. I would have flipped. Don’t get me wrong, I love Chris and all. But if were just him and I in the straw of a stable, I’m not sure what I would do. I’m already on edge about the 1.5 mile car ride to the hospital and worried that my doctor won’t be there to deliver the baby. Maybe I need to take some lessons from Mary in the area of “do not worry”.

Anyway, enough of my thoughts on Christmas and pregnancy. All that to say, it’s a pretty cool time of year to be 9 months pregnant. Here are some of my latest belly pictures.

IMG_417033 weeks.

photoWe forgot to snap a 34 week picture. But this is even better. These lovely ladies threw an overnight Baby Bohle celebration for me! It was so good to spend time together. After months of not seeing each other, we always seem to pick up right where we left off.

IMG_417735 weeks

IMG_417936 weeks– At my appointment this week my doctor said that the baby is already making progress (I will spare you all the details and current conditions of my cervix). If you’re truly interested, I’d be happy to share! He pretty much said he would be surprised if I made it to my due date. That meaning, this baby may be here sooner rather than later. But doctors don’t really know anything for sure.  We’ll keep you updated.

May you sense the excitement of Jesus’ birth this Christmas season.

One thought on “weeks 33-36

  1. I LOVE reading you and chris” blog!!!! I can just picture you 2 in a stable with a straw bed!!!! It was my laugh of the day!!!! you wil make it to the hosp in time and the dr will be waiting for you. I love hearing about it. Love Gram

Leave a Reply

