12 months.

IMG_4380 IMG_4435 IMG_0106  IMG_4563 IMG_1365IMG_4809 IMG_4843 IMG_0411 IMG_0569 IMG_0256 IMG_0609 IMG_0938

It was a year ago when we were anxiously walking into the hospital, not knowing what to expect, other than we were having a baby. I had no idea who this baby named “August” actually was. I pushed, he came out, the doctor made jokes, we cried…and that was just the start. Oh how our lives have changed, but I couldn’t imagine it any other way.

IMG_4203

Before becoming a mom, I was  worried that I would resent my son for my new found lack of freedom, or that I wouldn’t love him the way a mother should, or that I would be burdened by the daunting tasks of motherhood. Everyone told me “it’ll be different with your own”. But I never truly believed it…until he entered the world.  We can’t imagine life without our little August…and I wouldn’t want it any other way.  Now onto the “update”:

This kid. For real. I am not kidding. Is one of the most happy, cheerful, energetic little boys I know. He has a true love for life that is contagious to anyone he’s around. He knows no stranger. Smiles are given away at the drop of a dime and we can’t go anywhere without giggles and squeals of joy.  There is something special about this boy—and I can’t wait to see how God is going to use that in the years to come.

IMG_2262 IMG_2302 IMG_2360 IMG_2369

Not only is August a little charmer, he is ACTIVE. Wow—is this boy busy! He never stops. Playtime consists of dumping out Legos, unrolling the toilet paper, pulling all the wipes out of the container, going back to the Legos (just for a second), opening the cabinets…you get the picture. His active nature combined with how curious he is keeps us on our toes.  He has surprised us with the fact that he isn’t walking yet. Given how active he is, we are okay with that!

IMG_2335 IMG_2396 IMG_2442

August has taught us more than just how to change a diaper at 3 am or how to crawl of the bedroom so he doesn’t see us. He has taught us how deep God’s love is. How flawed we are as humans. How much we (Chris and I) have to depend on each other (especially without family close by to help us out). How to show love through frustration. How to laugh instead of cry.

To say we have been blessed is an understatement. August brings a joy and love I never knew possible. I can’t even begin to imagine the joy and love God feels towards us as He witnesses us making choices that honor Him and spread His love. Even when we fail Him, God’s love runs deeper than I will ever know. August has taught me a lot about God’s love this year, and for that, I will forever be thankful.

August Thacker—your dad and I can’t even begin to comprehend the plans God has for you. Our daily prayer is that your joy and love for life will grow with each day you’re given and that others will come to know Christ through you. Be confident in who you are and who you’ve been created to be.  Know that when our love falls short, God is there with a love that is deeper than the seas and higher than the mountains. You are created in His image and we are so blessed by you.

Here’s a little “mini update”:

Frists/Milestones: August has began climbing on things (boxes, stairs, etc.). Watch out couches, chairs and shelves… oh my!

He also had his first words of: buh-bye!! Now THAT was exciting!

A not so fun one…he had his first sickness (aside from a cold). It was not fun for August, mom or dad.

He celebrated his 1st Christmas AND his 1st birthday!

We had two celebrations for August’s birthday! This was at my Aunt Kathy’s house in Owosso. We also celebrated Christmas this day (poor kid).

IMG_2386 IMG_0758 IMG_0761

He wasn’t sure what to do with all the cameras!

IMG_0766 IMG_0779 IMG_0786 IMG_0794
Enjoying his toys post-birthday celebration!

His second party was in Greenville with Chris’ family. We had a “Milk and Cookies” themed party!

IMG_0812 IMG_0814 IMG_0815 IMG_0816 IMG_0820 IMG_0825 IMG_0833 IMG_0850

Now onto his 1st Christmas…

IMG_0878 IMG_0882 IMG_0883 IMG_0892 IMG_0907 IMG_2495 IMG_2499

Likes/Dislikes: August LOVES people. I think this is the one thing I’ve said over and over but I cannot begin to explain how much he loves people.

Some of his others likes are: iPhones, legos, watching candles/fireplaces burn, getting into EVERYTHING, eating table food (as long as it’s not green).

For as compliant as he is, August can also be very stubborn. He does not like eating green food, having his toys taken away, being told “no”, diaper and clothes changes.

We love you, August Thacker!!
Here is our 1st family photo:

IMG_0428

Here we are a year later!

131126-173239r

One thought on “12 months.

Leave a Reply

