giving thanks.

With Thanksgiving just around the corner, giving thanks has been on my mind [but I will admit that I have been working on Christmas crafts and our balsam candle has been burning]. There are the typical things that everyone is truly thankful for, and I am no exception. Clothes, housing, food, water, family, friends, etc. Those are all top on my list, don’t get me wrong.

Each Friday, all the students at my school come together for chapel to spend time in worship and learning about the Lord. Yesterday’s chapel focused on being thankful. A student read something that really caught my attention. It said something along the lines of this: “Most say they’re thankful for their clothes on the body but I am thankful for the body of Christ dying for my sins and His never ending mercy and love to bring me through the hard times.” Those student’s words made me think. We are often very thankful for the things that make us comfortable. It’s not usual to hear people giving thanks for the things that have made them cry, broken their heart, questioned their faith or circumstances that have caused extreme brokenness and pain. The bottom line is, it’s during those times that bring us closer to our Heavenly Father. That’s the whole point of our Christian walk, isn’t it?

With that, I am striving to show my thanks for the trying times over the past year. Times of unknown, fear, frustration, sadness, doubt, and questioning that have brought me closer in my walk with the Lord and have shaped me into a person that is just a bit more compassionate and understanding.

May you be blessed this Thanksgiving season!

“Shout for joy to the Lord, all the Earth.
Worship the Lord with gladness.
Come before Him with joyful songs.
It is He who made us, and we are His.
We are His people, the sheep of his pasture.
Give thanks to Him and praise his Holy Name.
Enter His gates with gladness and His courts with praise.
For the Lord is good and His faithfulness continues through
all genereations. ”

Psalm 100

Leave a comment